Oh Crap, Snapchat Is Going to Start Permanently Saving Our Photos & Videos
“Memories” will live forever.
What first brought (most) people to Snapchat was its one-of-a-kind self-destructing feature that would allow friends to see our photos, messages or videos for 10 seconds or less. Unlike with apps like Instagram, this permits unedited spontaneity in a different — and more secretive — communicative form. In 2014, the Story timeline rolled out and allowed us to share something with our entire feed for 24 hours, but now comes another game-changer from the platform that might alter the way we use it entirely. Introducing Memories, a function that allows you to save and log any snaps, as well as items from your phone’s camera roll, to be uploaded at a later time. Items in Memories can either be saved for “My Eyes Only” for private viewing or mixed in with in-the-now moments on your Story — which means users can essentially pick and choose what is being presented, taking away from real-time authenticity.
Snapchat will update with Memories this month. At least we’ll always have the adorable dog filter.