Virgil Abloh, Kerby Jean-Raymond & Marc Jacobs Are 2019 CFDA Fashion Award Nominees

Heron Preston and Telfar Clemens are also nominated this year.

309 Hypes

The CFDA has officially announced this year’s nominees and honorees for its prestigious Fashion Awards. This news follows the appointment of Tom Ford as the association’s new chairman, a role which Diane Von Furstenberg previously filled.

This year’s Womenswear Designer of the Year nominees included Marc Jacobs, Brandon Maxwell, Kate Mulleavy and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte, Rosie Assoulin and Sander Lak for Sies Marjan. Additional standout nominees include Virgil Abloh (Off-White™), Kerby Jean-Raymond (Pyer Moss), Rick Owens, Thom Browne (Thom Browne New York), Miki Amiri (Amiri) each nominated for the Menswear Designer of the Year award.

CFDA President and CEO Steven Kolb expanded on this year’s awards in an official statement:

“The CFDA Fashion Awards celebrate the outstanding creativity in American fashion. There will be exciting changes to this year’s awards, and we are honored to have Valentino and Giancarlo Giammetti join us as we name the International Award.”

Lastly, it’s important to note that a few more black designers made this year’s cut. Telfar Clemens of Telfar, the 2017 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund winner is nominated for Accessories Designer of the Year. Heron Preston might take home a win for Emerging Designer of the Year.

The CFDA Fashion Awards will take place on Monday, June 3 at the Brooklyn Museum. At the moment, a host has not been selected. Stay tuned as additional nominees and honorees are announced.

Take a look at each of the released nominees below.

Womenswear Designer of the Year:
Brandon Maxwell
Marc Jacobs
Kate Mulleavy and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte
Rosie Assoulin
Sander Lak for Sies Marjan

Menswear Designer of the Year:
Mike Amiri for Amiri
Virgil Abloh for Off-White
Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss
Rick Owens
Thom Browne of Thom Browne New York

Accessories Designer of the Year:
Jennifer Fisher for Jennifer Fisher Jewelry
Virgil Abloh for Off-White
Tabitha Simmons
Telfar Clemens for Telfar
Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Emerging Designer of the Year:
Emily Adams Bode for Bode
Beth Bugdaycay for Foundrae
Heron Preston
Catherine Holstein for Khaite
Sarah Staudinger and George Augusto for Staud

Valentino Garavani and Giancarlo Giammetti International Award:
Sarah Burton for Alexander McQueen

Positive Change Award:
Eileen Fisher

Founder’s Award:
Carine Roitfeld

Media Award:
Lynn Yaeger

Read Full Article

What to Read Next

Apple Reveals Its New Second Generation AirPods

Apple Reveals Its New Second Generation AirPods

They’re back, and they’re better.
15,403 Hypes

The Trailer for 'Stranger Things' Season 3 Is Here

The Trailer for 'Stranger Things' Season 3 Is Here

20,907 Hypes

These Are the British Trainer Brands You Need to Know

These Are the British Trainer Brands You Need to Know

Get these homegrown UK labels on your shopping list.
2,325 Hypes

More ▾