Fashion

LVMH Announces 2020 Prize Finalists Including Tomo Koizumi, Peter Do and More

Check out the eight designers here.

By
1,397 Hypes

UPDATE (March 10, 2020): LVMH has narrowed down its 20-long shortlist of LVMH Prize hopefuls to eight finalists. The remaining finalists, selected after all shortlisted labels presented their collections to this year’s expert committee, include Tomo Koizumi, Peter Do and Casablanca.

Also continuing on to the final round of the Prize are London-based Ahluwalia, Chopova Lowena, Nicholas Daley and Supriya Lele, along with South African designer Sindiso Khumalo.

The winner of the 2020 LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers and the Karl Lagerfeld Prize, a new addition that was introduced in honor of the late Chanel designer, will be chosen on June 5 at the Fondation Louis Vuitton in Paris.


ORIGINAL STORY (February 14, 2020): LVMH has officially released its lineup of designers shortlisted for the prestigious LVMH Prize, a chance to win €300,000 EUR (approximately $331,000 USD) and a one-year mentorship from the company.

20 labels including New York-based AREA, Tomo Koizumi — known for his voluminous, technicolor gowns — and Casablanca, an emerging brand boasting an upcoming collaboration with New Balance, were tapped for this year’s shortlist. Already-buzzy brands Peter Do, Yuhan Wang and Helmstedt are also included.

British Vogue‘s Edward Enninful, model Gigi Hadid and makeup artist Pat McGrath will sit on this year’s 68-strong panel of judges. The experts will vote on a group of eight semi-finalists on February 27 and 28, and those selected will move onto the final round of the Prize to be held on June 5.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

★ THE 2020 SHORTLISTED ★⁣⁣ ⁣⁣ Say hello to the young and talented designers on the #LVMHPrize2020 shortlist!⁣⁣ ⁣⁣ ★ Ahluwalia @ahluwalia_studio⁣⁣ ★ Alled-Martinez @alledmartinez⁣⁣ ★ Area @area⁣⁣ ★ CasablancaⒸ @casablancabrand⁣⁣ ★ Chopova Lowena @chopovalowena⁣⁣ ★ Commission @commissionnyc ⁣ ★ Ester Manas @estermanas⁣⁣ ★ Helmstedt @helmstedt_⁣⁣ ★ Kaushik Velendra @kaushik_velendra⁣⁣ ★ Nicholas Daley @nicholas_daley⁣⁣ ★ Nous Etudions @nousetudions⁣⁣ ★ Peter Do @the.peterdo⁣⁣ ★ Piero D’Angelo @pierodangelodesign⁣⁣ ★ Rave Review @ravereviewclothes⁣⁣ ★ Samuel Gui Yang @samuelguiyang⁣⁣ ★ Sindiso Khumalo @sindisokhumalo⁣⁣ ★ Supriya Lele @supriya_lele⁣⁣ ★ Tomo Koizumi @tomokoizumi⁣⁣ ★ Vaqar @_vaqar_⁣⁣ ★ Yuhan Wang @yuhanwangyuhan⁣

A post shared by LVMHPrize (@lvmhprize) on

Read Full Article

What to Read Next

The 10 Best Books You Need to Read If You're Obsessed with Beauty
Beauty 

The 10 Best Books You Need to Read If You're Obsessed with Beauty

Including titles by Lisa Eldrige, Joanna Vargas, Rachel Felder and more.
1,547 Hypes

Dyson's New Corrale Straightener Is the Ultimate Gift for Your Hair
Beauty

Dyson's New Corrale Straightener Is the Ultimate Gift for Your Hair

The only straightener with pioneering flexing plate technology.
8,199 Hypes


Proenza Schouler Teams Up with Birkenstock for a Timeless, Elevated 6-Piece Collection
Footwear

Proenza Schouler Teams Up with Birkenstock for a Timeless, Elevated 6-Piece Collection

Starring the iconic Arizona and Milano styles.
2,070 Hypes

Nike Reimagines the Air Force 1 Sage Low LX's Swoosh With a Familiar 3D Design
Footwear

Nike Reimagines the Air Force 1 Sage Low LX's Swoosh With a Familiar 3D Design

Take a closer look at the “Metallic Gold” details.
2,511 Hypes


More ▾
 
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Keep updated on the latest news.

By subscribing, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.